Corporate Profile

Mintek is South Africa’s national mineral research organisation and it is one of the world’s leading technology organisations specialising in mineral processing, extractive metallurgy and related areas. Working closely with industry and other R&D institutions, Mintek provides service testwork, process development and optimisation, consulting and innovative products to clients worldwide.

Mintek Executive

The Mintek corporate structure is headed by a Board, which includes a Chairperson and Mintek’s CEO, plus an additional six to nine other members. The Chairperson is appointed by the Minister of Mineral Resources.

Mintek’s Board of Directors bring a significant technical and business expertise to the company, ensuring that both the technical and the social targets will have a meaningful impact on the present and future economy of South Africa.

The CEO of Mintek is supported by the Executive Management team, comprising General Managers for Research & Development, Technology, Business Development and Corporate Services and Finance, and 15 Divisional Managers.



Dr Molefi Motuku

Chief Executive Officer


Dr. Makhapa Makhafola

General Manager: Research & Development

Nosiphiwo Mzamo
Manager: Mineralogy

Paul Brereton-Stiles
Manager: Measurement and Control

Mariekie Gericke
Manager: Biotechnology

Dr Jones Papo
Manager: Advanced Materials

Nirdesh Singh
Manager: Small-Scale Mining & Beneficiation

Alan McKenzie

General Manager: Technology

Joe Baloyi
Manager: Analytical Services

Dr. Leon Krüger
Manager: Hydrometallurgy

Bernard Joja
Manager: Minerals Processing

 Isabel Geldenhuys
Manager: Pyrometallurgy


General Manager: Business Development

Godfrey Mothapo
Manager: Business Development

Sakhi Simelane

General Manager: Finance

Hester Pretorius
Manager: Finance

Boni Hewu
Manager: Engineering & Maintenance Services

  Gugulethu Nyanda

GM: Corporate Services

Haveline Michau
Manager: Information and Communications

Hendrick Marobane
Manager: Human Resources